Main Content

Press Release - Change Of Name


At its recent AGM, the NWT Mining Heritage Society membership passed a motion put forward by the Board of Directors to change the Societies name to the Yellowknife Historical Society.

Walt Humphries, the president of the Society said: “Our Society was formed when Giant Mine suddenly shut down in 1999 so that we could save, preserve and display the mining equipment and memorabilia that would otherwise be lost. We extended this to Con mine and to other mines in the NWT that were being cleaned up by the Federal Government. That part of our mandate has been fulfilled.”

“The history of Yellowknife and the mines are completely intertwined and since there is no Yellowknife Historical Society or community-driven museum we have also taken on that role as well and want our new name to better reflect this as we move forward with our museum.”

The Yellowknife Historical Society will continue to renovate the Giant Mine recreation hall in order to display the community’s history and is also looking for ideas of other ways to celebrate Yellowknife’s history.

The rebranded Society will embark on a new campaign to solicit support from local businesses, government funding sources, and community members who have an interest in preserving and promoting Yellowknife’s rich history.

Board members are Walt Humphries, Mike Vaydik, Diane Baldwin, Ryan Silke, David Finch, Helmut Epp, John Clark, and Terry Warner.