The NWT Mining Heritage Society‘s exhibit – "UNDERGROUND: The life of a Yellowknife Gold Miner" opened at the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre. The display is near the entrance to the auditorium and will be on display until July 3, 2012.
For 65 years miners in Yellowknife toiled deep underground to pull up the rich gold ore that put the city on the map. The Con (1938) and Giant Mines (1948) bordered the city and dominated the local economy until they closed in 2003 and 2004.
This exhibit focuses on the two primary Yellowknife mines, Con and Giant. It offers a glimpse into the daily routine of underground mine workers - the clothing they wore, the tools they carried and the equipment they used. Photos and personal experiences accompany the items and help to give visitors a sense of what it was like to work underground.
Mine rescue gear is also part of the showcase. It serves to recognize the important job of the emergency response team. During Mining Week in mid-June, there is a mine rescues competition where these highly trained and skilled teams demonstrate their skills.
The NWT Mining Heritage Society is preserving the North’s mining heritage –the artifacts, the images, and memories of what it was like to work in the mines and live in the camps and town sites that grew up around the mines.
Visit the NWT Mining Heritage Society website for more information on mining in the North or to join the society.
The NWT Mining Heritage Society wishes to acknowledge the generous support of the Government of the Northwest Territories Department of Education Culture and Employment for its support.